Bangladesh nationals allowed to obtain duel-citizenship of 101 countries

Bangladeshi citizens can now avail citizenship of 44 more new countries while keeping their Bangladeshi citizenship. The decision to expand the existing list of 57 countries to 101 countries for which the Bangladeshi people can keep dual citizenship was cleared by the cabinet on February 27, 2023.

It may be mentioned here that, a large number of Bangladeshi national have already obtained citizenship of several countries, including Cyprus, Malta, Turkey, Dominica, St Lucia, Barbados, St Vincent & Grenadine, Grenada, and St Kits & Nevis by investing large amount of cash, which had been smuggled out of the country through illegal channel. Majority of the countries in the world sell citizenship against investment ranging between US$200,000 to US$3 million.

Portugal offers citizenship against investment of €280,000 in property or real estate or capital transfer of €250,000. Minimum stay required for obtaining citizenship is 7 days for the first year and 14 days in subsequent years. Anyone applying for Portuguese citizenship should be an adult of minimum 18 years.

Spain Golden Visa residency from Bangladesh through buying Real Estate, or thru a capital transfer or through job creation.

According to Spanish nationality law, the residence permit leads to permanent residency permit. Permanent resident card for 10 years then leads to Spanish passport citizenship after 5 years. That also gives the applicant citizenship of the European Union.

For obtaining Spanish citizenship individual needs to invest €500,000 in real estate or property or invest minimum €1 million in Spanish public debt or buy minimum €1 million in shares or deposit €1 million in bank.

Bangladeshi nationals now are legally allowed to obtain dual-citizenship of 101 countries. Earlier it was 57. According to decision official sources, an official circular in this regard shall be issued soon. Newly included 44 countries are Fiji, Egypt, South Africa, Kenya, Algeria, Sudan, Morocco, Ghana, Rwanda, Burundi, Tunisia, Sierra Leone, Libya, Congo, Liberia, Central African Republic, Eretria, Gambia, Botswana, Mauritius, Brazil, Bolivia, Colombia, Venezuela, Surinam, Argentina, Peru, Ecuador, Chili, Uruguay, Guyana, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Haiti, Bahama, Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago, Dominica, St Lucia, Barbados, St Vincent & Grenadine, Grenada, and St Kits & Nevis.

Bangladesh allows for dual citizenship under limited circumstances based on procedures prescribed by the government. Bangladeshi origin people who are citizens of the USA, UK, Australia, Canada and Europe are allowed to take up dual citizenship of Bangladesh. Such people based on their application and fulfilling certain conditions are issued a Dual Nationality Certificate (DNC) and they can obtain a Bangladeshi passport, apart from the passport of those countries.

However, people with dual citizenship are not permitted to become members of parliament or contest elections in Bangladesh. People from the SAARC region are not allowed to have dual citizenship as per Bangladeshi law.

Citizenship in Bangladesh is primarily acquired on the principle of ius sanguinis – subject to the Citizenship Act of 1951, a person born to at least one Bangladeshi parent shall be considered a Bangladeshi citizen.

Upon marrying a Bangladeshi citizen, an individual may apply for Bangladeshi citizenship.

After 45 years, Argentina reopens embassy in Dhaka

Amidst a huge crowd, Argentina’s Foreign Minister Santiago Cafiero and State Minister for Foreign Affairs Md Shahriar Alam on Monday inaugurated the new embassy of the South American country in Dhaka’s Banani area.

“It’s a momentous and joyous moment. It’s not just a diplomatic gesture. It’s an emotional moment”, said Shahriar Alam.

The Argentine foreign minister described the moment as a “stepping stone to make better and stronger relations between the two countries”.

Diplomats stationed in Dhaka also joined the function.

Argentina reopens its embassy here after 45 years.

The Argentine embassy in Dhaka was closed in 1978 by the military junta that ruled the Latin American country at the time.

Diplomatic operations, such as visas in order to travel, have since been handled by the embassy in neighboring India.

Argentina says it is convenient to reopen the embassy in accordance with foreign policy guidelines based on “political, strategic and commercial” reasons.

For latest updates and news follow BLiTZ on Google News, YouTube, Facebook, and also on Twitter.

- A word from our sponsors -

Most Popular

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: