Delhi: 3 names selected for CBI chief, the name of this IPS officer is the most discussed


A high-level meeting took place on Saturday evening between PM Modi, Chief Justice of India DVE Chandrachud and Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury. According to sources, in the meeting CBI Director post Three senior IPS officers were selected for Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhary said, “The committee held a meeting and sent three names to the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet, out of which one will be approved.” According to sources, Home Minister Amit Shah has also been involved in this entire process.

DGP Praveen Sood’s name at the forefront

Sources said that the names of senior IPS officers from Karnataka, Delhi and other states were discussed during the meeting. The fixed two-year tenure of CBI Director Subodh Kumar Jaiswal ends on May 25. The name of 1986 batch IPS officer and Karnataka DGP Praveen Sood is doing the rounds for the post.

CBI Director Subodh Kumar Jaiswal’s term ends on May 25

Jaiswal, former commissioner of Mumbai Police and 1985 batch IPS officer of Maharashtra cadre, took over the reins of CBI on May 26, 2021. The CBI Director is selected by a committee consisting of the Prime Minister, the CJI and the Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha and is appointed for a fixed term of two years. The tenure can be extended up to five years. Sources said possible candidates for the appointment of new Central Vigilance Commissioner and Member Lokpal were also discussed during the meeting.

CBI registers case against Sameer Wankhede, who came into limelight in Aryan Khan case, raids at 29 places including house dgp praveen sood

For latest updates and news follow BLiTZ on Google News, YouTube, Facebook, and also on Twitter.

- A word from our sponsors -


Most Popular

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.