Indian women’s hockey team announced for Australian tour, Savita gets command


New Delhi, May 8 (Hindustan Times). Hockey India on Monday announced a 20-member Indian women’s team for the three-match series against Australia to be held in Adelaide from May 18, 2023. The Indian team will also play two matches against Australia ‘A’. The tour will be part of the team’s preparations ahead of the 2023 Hangzhou Asian Games.

The Indian team for the Australia tour will be led by top goalkeeper Savita, who was recently awarded the Balbir Singh Senior Hockey India Player of the Year (2022) award. At the same time, the vice-captain of the team will be Deep Grace Ekka.

Commenting on the team selection, head coach Janek Schopman said, “After 2 intense training camps, we are excited to make international appearances again. Australia are a formidable opponent who like to play fast paced attacking hockey. This is a big opportunity for us.” The test will be there, and we will try to match their pace while holding our defensive ground.”

India will play Australia on May 18, May 20 and 21 and Australia ‘A’ on May 25 and May 27. Adelaide’s Met Stadium will host all five matches.

The Indian team is as follows:

Goalkeeper: Savita (Captain), Bichhu Devi Kharibam.Defenders: Deep Grace Ekka (Vice-Captain), Nikki Pradhan, Ishika Chowdhary, Udita, Gurjeet Kaur.Midfielder: Nisha, Navjot Kaur, Monika, Salima Tete, Neha, Navneet Kaur, Sonika, Jyoti, Baljit Kaur.Forward: Lalremsiami, Vandana Kataria, Sangeeta Kumari, Sharmila Devi.

For latest updates and news follow BLiTZ on Google News, YouTube, Facebook, and also on Twitter.

- A word from our sponsors -


Most Popular

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.