Jharsuguda bypoll: BJD leading in first round of counting, BJP and Congress trailing


Jharsuguda Bye-Election Result: The counting of votes for the by-election in Odisha’s Jharsuguda assembly seat began at eight o’clock on Saturday morning amid tight security arrangements. An officer gave this information. There were nine candidates in the fray, but the contest is between three candidates, Deepali Das of the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Tarun Pandey of the Congress and Tankadhar Tripathi of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Please inform that the counting of the first round is almost complete. In this the candidate of Biju Janata Dal is leading by 2706 votes.

in the first round




The result of the bypoll will not have any bearing on the Naveen Patnaik-led BJD government as the party enjoys a substantial majority. Out of a total of 2.21 lakh voters, 79.21 per cent had exercised their franchise in the bypoll held on May 10. State health minister Nab Kishore Das was killed allegedly by a policeman on January 29, following which the by-election was held on the seat.

Chief Electoral Officer Nikunj Bihari Dhall had said on Friday, “All arrangements have been made for the counting of votes at the Engineering School campus in Jharsuguda.” There will be calculation in 18 full rounds and one partial round. Postal ballots will be counted first.” The BJD has 113 members in the 147-member Odisha assembly, the opposition BJP and the Congress have 22 and nine legislators respectively. is a member of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) and is an independent MLA.

For latest updates and news follow BLiTZ on Google News, YouTube, Facebook, and also on Twitter.

- A word from our sponsors -


Most Popular

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.