Connect with us

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina aborts controversial names in the new cabinet


Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina aborts controversial names in the new cabinet

Vijaya Laxmi Tripura

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has once again exhibited her magnanimous leadership qualities and charisma by dropping most of the controversial figures from the previous cabinet and has included several new faces in the cabinet that will take oath on tomorrow. According to the statement issued by the government, a total number of 31 faces are included in the 47-member cabinet. The new cabinet will be comprised of 24 ministers, 19 state ministers and 3 deputy ministers.

Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam announced the names of the lawmakers to be inducted in the new cabinet.

Below is the full list of the new cabinet:

Cabinet Ministers:

AKM Mozammel Haque (Liberation War Affairs), Obaidul Quader (Road Transport and Bridges), Md Abdur Razzak (Agriculture), Assaduzzaman Khan Kamal (Home), Hasan Mahmud (Information ministry), Anisul Huq (Law), AHM Mustafa Kamal (Finance), Md Tajul Islam (LGRD), Dr Dipu Moni (Education), AK Abdul Momen (Foreign), MA Mannan (Planning), Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun (Industries), Golam Dastagir Gazi (Textiles and Jute), Jahid Malek (Health), Sadhan Chandra Majumdar (Food), Tipu Munshi (Commerce), Nuruzzaman Ahmed (Social Welfare), SM Rezaul Karim (Housing), Md Shahab Uddin (Environment), Bir Bahadur Ushoi Shing (Hill Tracts), Saifuzzaman Chowdhury (Land), Md Nurul Islam Sujan (Railways) and Yafes Osman (Technocrat – Science and Tech), Mustafa Jabbar (Technocrat – ICT).

State Ministers:

Kamal Ahmed Majumdar (Industries), Imran Ahmed (Expatriates’ Welfare and Overseas Employment), Md Zahid Ahsan Russel (Youth and Sports), Nasrul Hamid Bipu (Power, Energy and Mineral Resources), Md Ashraf Ali Khan Khasru (Fisheries and Livestock), Begum Munnujan Sufiyan (Labour and Employment), Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury (Shipping), Md Zakir Hossain (Primary and Mass Education), Md Shahriar Alam (Foreign Affairs), Zunaid Ahmed Palak (Information), Farhad Hossain (Public Administration), Swapan Bhattachariya (Local Government, Rural Development and Co-operatives), Jahid Faruk (Water Resources), Md Murad Hasan (Health and Family Welfare), Sharif Ahmed (Social Welfare), KM Khalid (Cultural Affairs), Dr Md Enamur Rahman (Disaster Management and Relief), Md Mahbub Ali (Civil Aviation and Tourism), and Sheikh Md Abdullah (Religious Affairs).

Deputy Ministers:

Habibun Nahar (Environment, Forests and Climate Change), AKM Enamul Haque Shamim (Water Resources), and Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury (Education).

The nine who are going to be full ministers for the first time are Md Tajul Islam (LGRD), AK Abdul Momen (Foreign), Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun (Industries), Golam Dastagir Gazi (Textiles and Jute), Sadhan Chandra Majumdar (Food), Tipu Munshi (Commerce), SM Rezaul Karim (Housing), Md Nurul Islam Sujan (Railways) and Md Shahab Uddin (Environment).

Those who are dropped:

A large number of controversial names are dropped in the next cabinet. Those include, Industries Minister Amir Hossain Amu [accused of taking part in conspiracy against Sheikh Hasina during the military-backed interim government], Commerce Minister Tofail Ahmed [accused of taking part in conspiracy against Sheikh Hasina during the military-backed interim government], Agriculture Minister Matia Chowdhury [accused of passing extremely derogatory remarks against Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman following the war of independence in 1971], Health Minister Mohammad Nasim [branded as “corrupt” in the leaked cable of the US embassy], LGRD Minister Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Expatriate Welfare Minister Nurul Islam BSc and Housing and Public Works Minister Engineer Mosharraf Hossain were dropped from the new cabinet.

Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal leader Hasanul Huq Inu [former information minister], Workers Party of Bangladesh President Rashed Khan Menon [former Social Welfare minister], Shajahan Khan [Shipping Minister, who was working as a pressure house in favor of owners and workers in the road-transport sector], Mofazzal Hossain Chowdhury Maya [former, Relief and Disaster Management Minister. His son-in-law is a condemned convict in the Narayanganj 7-murder case], Abul Hasan Mahmud Ali [former Foreign Minister, who is held responsible for deterioration of Bangladesh’s relationship with United States and other Western nations], Asaduzzaman Noor [Cultural Affairs Minister] and Qamqul Islam [former Food Minister, who has controversies].

Anwar Hussain Manju, former Environment minister [Jatiya Party – Manju] has been also dropped/

There is no Jatiya Party lawmaker in the new cabinet as the party has aleady announced that it would act as a “real and effective” opposition party in the 11th parliament.

Among the state ministers, former State Minister for Textiles and Jute Mirza Azam, Jatiya Party Presidium Member and also State Minister for Labour Mujibul Haque Chunnu, State Minister for Information Tarana Halim and State Minister for Local Government Mushiur Rahman Ranga, State Minister for Women Affairs Meher Afroz Chumki were also dropped from the new cabinet.

Continue Reading
You may also like...

Blitz’s Editorial Board is responsible for the stories published under this byline. This includes editorials, news stories, letters to the editor, and multimedia features on BLiTZ

Click to comment

Leave a Comment

More in News

To Top
%d bloggers like this: